How do I add or modify a role?

Roles are designed to limit access to only the tools your users - editors, writers, management, marketers and so on - need to do their jobs. Simply assign a new user a role, which is associated with privileges. Privileges provide access to specific tools within your website's back-end. For example, two of the tools an editor needs access to are Article Manager and the Blog Post Manager. He would need to be assigned a role that allows access to those tools. A user will only see a greyed-out link on the dashboard after logging in if he does not have access to a particular tool.

Reminder: Any change to a role will impact all admin users assigned to that role. They may have to log out and log back in to see any changes.

If you have questions about Roles & Privileges, please contact your Solutions Manager. We are happy to help you set up Roles.

1. Open the Role & Privilege Manager by clicking Create a Role next to Role & Privilege under SysAdmin on your dashboard.

Open the Role & Privilege Manager by clicking Create a Role next to Role & Privilege under SysAdmin on your dashboard.

1.1. Assign an Internal Name. It should be all lowercase, separated by a "." For example:

1.2. The display name can be anything, but make sure it's easy to recognize. For example:

The display name can be anything, but make sure it's easy to recognize. For example:

2. To add a new privilege to a role, click the box next to the privilege.

To add a new privilege to a role, click the box next to the privilege.

When a privilege is added or removed from a role, that user will see those privileges (tools) greyed out in the main navigation of their website's administration. A user assigned that role will no longer be able to click on those tools.

2.1. To remove a privilege, click the checked box at the top of the list.

To remove a privilege, click the checked box at the top of the list.

2.2. WARNING: When you add or remove a privilege from a role, that change will affect ALL users associated with that role.

3. Click Create.

Click Create.

3.1. If the role successfully saved, a yellow box will appear at the top.

4. To modify an already existing role, click List in the menu at the top of the Role & Privilege Manager.

To modify an already existing role, click List in the menu at the top of the Role & Privilege Manager.

4.1. Scroll down in the window that appears to the Roles. Select the role you'd like to edit.

4.2. To add a new privilege, click the box next to the privilege.

To add a new privilege, click the box next to the privilege.

When a privilege is added or removed from a role, that user will see those privileges (tools) greyed out in the main navigation of their website's administration. A user assigned that role will no longer be able to click on those tools.

4.3. To remove a privilege, click the checked box at the top of the list.

To remove a privilege, click the checked box at the top of the list.

4.4. WARNING: When you add or remove a privilege from a Role, that change will affect ALL users associated with that Role.

4.5. Click Save if you make any changes to a Role.

Click Save if you make any changes to a Role.

5. To remove a role, click Delete. To reset a role to the last-saved version, click Reset.

To remove a role, click Delete. To reset a role to the last-saved version, click Reset.