ePublishing Knowledge BaseePublishing Knowledge BaseePublishing Knowledge Base EditorialHow do I share an article with a partner or advertiser before it is live on the site?

How do I share an article with a partner or advertiser before it is live on the site?

You can share an article with a partner or advertiser before publishing it on your website.

Start by creating your article, complete with all body copy, taxonomy associations, imagery and so on. Learn how to create an article: How do I create an article?

Now follow these instructions:

Leave the article as UNPUBLISHED.

Leave the article as UNPUBLISHED.

If the green Publish button appears (as shown above), the article is unpublished.

Under Edit >, go to SEO.

Under Edit >, go to SEO.

Select the "Direct Access" checkbox.

Select the "Direct Access" checkbox.

This checkbox only appears if the article is UNPUBLISHED.

By selecting this checkbox, you are allowing the system to show the article to any user of your site that has the exact URL.

The article will not appear in your website's search results, topic landing pages, or home page, regardless of any taxonomy associations.

Copy the URL and provide it to your partner or advertiser.

Provide the full URL with the HTTP:// and your domain name.

Example: http://www.yourdomain.com/articles/41-article-with-hidden-url-for-publsher-to-share-with-advertiser

Pro tip: You could also provide just the ID number after the /articles: http://www.yourdomain.com/articles/41.

After your partner/advertiser signs off, return to the article and click Publish to publish it. Update the Go Live Date/Time if necessary.

After your partner/advertiser signs off, return to the article and click Publish to publish it. Update the Go Live Date/Time if necessary.

Your article will now be available on your website.

Important Note: As mentioned above, the Direct Access functionality is only available when an article is not Published. If you have applied Direct Access to an article and also added a pull date to the article, the article will continue to display after the pull date has passed because Direct Access has been checked. In order prevent the article from display, you will need to Unpublish it so that you see the Direct Access checkbox, then uncheck the Direct Access box, and save the article.