How do I remove a user from having access to the admin tools?

If you have a recently departed team member and you need to prevent him from having access to your website's administration, you have two options.

  1. Remove his Admin tool roles and privileges in their User Manager record, OR
  2. Delete his record.

This article looks at how to remove access for an existing Admin user, or someone that can edit your website in full or in part. You can control which tools users can access on the back-end of your website.

This article also provides instructions on how to delete the user entirely from access. NOTE: This cannot be undone. This will remove the user, and he will not be able to log-in to the front-end of the website without creating a new registration account or purchasing a subscription.

We also review how to view what each type of user (or role) has access to, and how to edit each role's access.

1. Remove the user's roles and privileges without deleting the user.

1.1. Under Sales/Marketing, click Search & Edit next to User.

Under Sales/Marketing, click Search & Edit next to User.

1.2. Search for the user you would like to update in your system.

1.3. Click their ID number or View to edit.

1.4. Under Edit, select Roles to assign a role to or remove a role from the user.

Under Edit, select Roles to assign a role to or remove a role from the user.

1.5. Click the checked role next to the Associated Role name to remove a role. Click Save.

Click the checked role next to the Associated Role name to remove a role. Click Save.

The role will immediately disappear from its current location.

1.6. To remove privileges, click Privileges under Edit.

To remove privileges, click Privileges under Edit.

1.7. Click the checkbox next to each Associated Privilege to remove a privilege. Click Save.

Click the checkbox next to each Associated Privilege to remove a privilege. Click Save.

The privilege will immediately disappear from its current location.

2. Delete a user.

2.1. Deleting a user cannot be undone.

2.2. Under Sales/Marketing, click Search & Edit next to User.

Under Sales/Marketing, click Search & Edit next to User.

2.3. Search for the user you would like to delete from your system.

2.4. Click their ID number or View.

2.5. When the user's profile opens, scroll to the bottom of the page, and click Delete.

When the user's profile opens, scroll to the bottom of the page, and click Delete.

3. Want to know which privileges are associated with each role? Click List & Edit next to Role & Privilege under SysAdmin.

Want to know which privileges are associated with each role? Click List & Edit next to Role & Privilege under SysAdmin.

3.1. Scroll to view Roles. Click on the Internal Name to view the privileges associated with that role.

There are no standard ePublishing roles. They are unique to each website.

3.2. The privileges associated with the selected role will appear at the top, checked.