How do I clear Twitter and Facebook Cache?

When sharing an article or blog post (or any URL for that matter) on Facebook or Twitter, these networks access your content and extract pieces (title, featured image, short description) from it in order to produce a summary card. This card is what's shared within your message, giving it a more polished look.

If you change the title, image, or description and want to share it again on social media, you may be surprised to find that you're sharing the old content. This is because both Twitter and Facebook cache this content to avoid re-checking a URL every time it's shared.

This cache can be cleared, and here's how to do it:

Facebook

Go to the Facebook Debugger at https://developers.facebook.com/tools/debug/

Paste your URL into the text field and click Debug. This shows the result of processing the content of that URL. If you've already shared it, you will see the cached version, click Scrape Again to force Facebook to pull the most recent content.

Twitter

Twitter has a card validator at https://cards-dev.twitter.com/validator

Simply enter the URL of the content you want to update and hit the Preview card button. The Log section at the end of the page displays the result of processing your content, so if there’s any problem with the Open Graph meta tags in your website, you’ll see it here. You can then repost your card.

 

It's important to note that by deleting the cache on social media, your previously shared posts will not change. This only impacts new posts.